R.I.P. David Bowie

David Bowie wasn’t a huge part of my life before today. I’ve only heard ten or fifteen of his songs and while I admired his performance in The Prestige, it’s all I’ve seen him act in. All the same, I cried when I heard the news, and it took me most of the day to put my finger on why.

My friend Vinny and I were in band together for four years, and though we never covered any Bowie songs, we kicked around “Space Oddity” for a while. Like all of the music from Bowie I’ve heard, “Space Oddity” is a simple, four-chord (and more during the breaks) kind of tune. What made him great was how much style he infused into every note. All of his music seems easy pickings and playings, as long as you don’t want to do it like Bowie. No one could come close to doing that as well as him.

I don’t remember if we gave up on “Space Oddity” or I moved away before we finished it. We never played it out. What I’ll always remember is how much fun it was learning the calls and responses. In this small way, David Bowie made my life better. For that I pay tribute.

“This is Major Tom to ground control
I’m stepping through the door
and floating in the most peculiar way
And the stars look very different today.”

Rest in Peace.

David Bowie (8 January 1947 – 10 January 2016).

 

Leave a Reply

