“In Front of a Live Studio Audience”

New flash fiction up as part of the Tethered by Letters‘s group writing project “Cue Laugh Track.” The other pieces are great too and they’ll be posting a new one each week.

Cue laugh track. I know what to do, how to stand and how to smile like a TV star because the electric buzzing lets up if I do everything right. When it wants me to stand straight, my back tingles where it’s bent. If I ignore it, or if I move the wrong way, walk away from a conversation I’m not supposed to, it will give me a full blown shock that leaves me shaking (and shocked again) if I can’t clamp it down. It keeps hurting me until the lights go out.

Continue reading here!

Leave a Reply

